• Español
  • English

Winners of the TTT of Volta a Catalunya

Movistar Team obtained a great triumph in the second stage of the Volta a Catalunya, a team time trial of 41.3 km with start and finish in the town of Banyoles. Alejandro Valverde, José Joaquín Rojas, Andrei Amador, Nelson Oliveira, Marc Soler, Rubén Fernández, Imanol Erviti and Jonathan Castroviejo have completed the track in 48’55”, 2 seconds better than BMC and 46 seconds ahead of Team Sky. In addition, the eight men led by José Luis Arrieta have concluded with the same time.

This success turns Alejandro Valverde into the new leader of the Volta, as José Joaquín Rojas was sanctioned with 3 minutes. This wednesday begins the high mountain with the finish line in the demanding climb to La Molina.

Quotes: “It was a very tough time trial. We knew it would be hard, because we had ridden it five times during the last few days. It was a technical one, and knowing the course well ended up being key. We feared a bit the rain, because it would have made for a dangerous course, but we were lucky in the end and we got through it safe. We must go day-by-day, yet we put a very important gap on strong rivals today. It will be very difficult tomorrow, and I’m worried about bad weather again – let’s hope we can stay dry all wekk. My legs have been feeling good over the last few days, despite not having raced anything since Andalucía, so I hope I can keep the jersey. Obviously, though, having Contador or Froome contesting it will make for a difficult defense.”

Photo: Movistar Team / Photo Gómez Sport